top of page
Black and White Silhouette Motivational
Nomad Soul by D.J. Bodden

The Illusionist Book 1: Nomad Soul

If you had to choose between your life and your dreams, would you ever wake up?

Alan Campbell thought he’d gotten his dream job working on a revolutionary VRMMORPG with Osmark Technologies, until the project was canceled. He has one weekend to dive into an untested world full of intrigue, violence, and corruption to prove that Viridian Gate Online works, but the AIs running the game have their own plans for his soul.

Dead Man's Tide by D.J. Bodden

The Illusionist Book 2: Dead Man's Tide

Viridian Gate Online is more than just a game… and now, it's Alan Campbell’s whole world.

Recently deceased and squishy as hell, Alan, a newly minted Illusionist, is forced to flee for his life. He needs time to deal with his loss, both in-game and IRL, but first he’ll have to escape his crazy ex, the treacherous Firebrand, Thalia Daceran.

On his way to safety and revenge, he’ll team up with Titus, the Imperial spymaster, as well as a crew of pirates, commandos, and even a shapeshifting Mimic with a taste for blood. His path leads to Wyrdtide, a gaslit city hidden in mists and governed by dark demigods. 

But even with Alan dead, the world marches on. Will the government seize control of V.G.O.? Did Horace, the blind beggar, really die? And whatever happened to Jeff? Find answers, new purpose, and the machinations of the gods in this action-packed continuation of the Illusionist Series.

Inquisitor's Foil by D.J. Bodden
E-book Sharpers Coin.jpg

The Illusionist Book 3: Inquisitor's Foil

He's a part-time Imperial hero, full-time thief. Lucky for him, she's not that kind of Inquisitor.

Illusionist and novice spy Alan Campbell just got out of one relationship only to have another woman walk into his life: the Lady Camilla Favonius of the Imperial Inquisition. He's close to broke and left without orders. She wears plate armor in the field and around her heart. Is the lady just what the Plague Doctor ordered, or will his efforts to get a job and woo her only leave him jaded...or dead?

From the city of Harrowick to the perilous depths of the Grass Sea, Alan will have to fight a corrupt syndicate, earn his place in the Thieves' Union, and face down monsters and the risen dead if he wants a happy ending. All the while, in the real world, Robert Osmark is as close to losing his company as he's ever been, and both Sandra and Jeff will have to pick sides once the battle lines are drawn. Brazen thievery, Death caught off-balance, the Dawn Elves' dirty secret, and unexpected love in Inquisitor's Foil, the third book of the Illusionist series.

The Illusionist Book 4: Sharper's Coin

Love can make a man do terrible things.

Somewhere within the Library, a clock is winding down. With Wendy safe, Alan needs to focus on paying his debt to the Plague Doctors of Wyrdtide by the end of the month. But a slip of the tongue doubles the amount, turning a hard task into an impossible one.

His only option is to ask the master of assassins for work. But murder for money isn't the only thing Alan needs to worry about. The gods are upset with him, his old colleagues want him dead, and the Circle of Brewers is hiding more than the secrets of Alchemy.

And there's something else, something deadlier, and it's reaching through time to seize everything Alan loves in its fist. Try as he might, it may have been too late from the start.

side quests.jpg
phoenix of ankara mockup.png

Viridian Gate Online: Side Quests

The End is Coming.

An extinction-level asteroid is cannonballing toward Earth. In humanity’s final hours, a lucky few earn a one-way ticket to the brand-new, ultra-immersive, fantasy-based VRMMORPG, Viridian Gate Online. Making that leap of faith might mean survival, but it comes with a steep price tag: “Travelers” will forever be stranded as digital avatars inside a fantastical world filled with vicious monsters, all-powerful AIs, and cutthroat players. Let the games begin …

Six amazing authors. Six incredible new tales. All set in the best-selling Viridian Gate Online Universe. Side Quests is an anthology for fans, by the fans!
Included in Side Quests is an extra story featuring the one and only, Alan in:

A Final Kindness
Alan Campbell was a talker, not a fighter, until someone murdered his girl. He’d almost given up on finding the killers; now he’s got a fresh lead, a trio of mercenaries who outclass him in every way but his wits. He’ll cheat, bluff, and steal to get his revenge, and as one of V.G.O.’s immortal travelers, he’s willing to die trying.

Phoenix of Ankara

He's holding his cards close to his heart...

They say you can find anything in the City of Glass. When the Imperial veteran who killed the last Merchant Prince returns to the scene of the crime, many wonder what he's looking for. Deals are struck in back rooms, and allegiances shift. For Canis Decentius, it's about remembering what he fought for and making good on old debts.


When the four factions that control Ankara decide to remove him from the board, Canis seems to pick a side, but rumors among the native Accipiter suggest he's playing a different game entirely. Has the old legionary come to the City of Glass to die, or will his private war be the beginning of something new?

Based on the card game Gentleman’s War and the best-selling LitRPG universe Viridian Gate Online created by James A. Hunter, Phoenix of Ankara is a story of uncommon origins, promises, and bonds that run deeper than family.


Portal Mage

Senior Portal Mage Jumping Juniper has been trapped inside Viridian Gate Online since the Cataclysm wiped out Earth sixteen years ago. He just wants to get by, hanging out with his girlfriend, razzing the apprentices, and one-shotting the occasional raid boss. But when a new player joins V.G.O. from outside, everything JJ knew about the real world and the game's future is turned on its head.

That doesn't mean everyone can go home. Post-Astrea Earth is a dangerous place, and the Travelers who uploaded their consciousnesses don't have bodies to return to. It's up to JJ, his new apprentice, and a few familiar faces from the Crimson Rebellion to keep their world safe and help players, NPCs, and their descendants decide how to handle this new reality.

Portal Mage is a new episodic adventure series set 16 years after the events of V.G.O.'s Cataclysm. Episode 1 is available to D.J.'s mailing list subscribers & the full  series is released monthly and is exclusively available to patrons of D.J. Bodden.

origins box.jpg

Viridian Gate Online: Origins

Imperial. Rebel. Light. Dark. Living. Dead. Which side will you choose?

Welcome to Viridan Gate Online, an ultra-immersive, fantasy-based VRMMORPG where anything is possible: Raid deadly dungeons. Tame epic creatures. Master arcane power beyond imagination. And, most importantly… Survive the coming apocalypse.

Check out the Viridian Gate Online: Origins, a box set with five novels from five amazing authors, all set in the sprawling universe of Viridian Gate Online. Join Jack Shadowstrider, Abby the Firebrand, Alan the Illusionist, Vlad the Alchemic Weaponeer, and Robert Osmark—CEO of Osmark Technologies—as they step into a digital world that is far more deadly than it seems.


Included in this box set:

Cataclysm (VGO Book 1) by James A. Hunter

Nomad Soul (Illusionist Book 1) by D.J. Bodden

Firebrand (Firebrand Book 1) by J.D. Astra

The Artificer (Imperial Initiative Book 1) by S.R. Witt

Vindication (Alchemic Weaponeer Book 1) by N.H. Paxton


SAP logo.jpg
Join the mailing list for a (8).png
Portal Mage Episode 1
bottom of page